Month: November 2007

  • It’s December!!

    I came across this picture while googling for Christmas images. Taken by Jian Shuo Wang in 2004. So pretty and Christmassy and packed! I can imagine standing for hours just looking and touching and feeling every little trinket and ribbon and..

    Sigh..

    Next year’s coming in a month’s time. It’s freaky how time flies.  How much time I’ve wasted this year.

  • Black and White

    I changed my Xanga theme to match the Christmassy season.. I like this one best, but I think the black-and-whiteness is inappropriate. It’s not supposed to be bleak and monotonous and dead.

    It’s supposed to be colourful, bright, vivid, happy!

    And meanwhile, I’m still looking for another theme.

    Doesn’t help that I accidentally deleted my header module and I can’t insert it back.

    Sigh.

  • Photoshoot

    It was fun! Got to know new friends who were in the photoshoot too, and got to meet Peiling’s colleague, Nasa. =) Watch out for Friday’s R.AGE.  =D

    Here are some of the pictures taken when I was there.. not sure if all could be published. Ling, if there are any pictures I shouldn’t put here because of privacy policy, let me know and I’ll remove them yea.. =p

    Found this bottle on their display rack.. there’s a story behind it. To celebrate Deepavali, R.AGE team made a beautiful kolam at the entrance of the office. But to their dismay, people didn’t seem to notice it and sent coloured rice flying everywhere with their walking feet. So, I guess it was time to put the rice somewhere safer. =p

    Found this beautiful beaded wirework on the rack too. So pretty..

    That’s Ling, doing her work! =D

    Photoshoot took place in The Star’s studio called Shutterbug. So cute!

    While waiting for the photographer, we practised posing. =p Ling dared me to put this up on my blog. Haha!

    Ling with picture of syringe.

    Mike being photographed.


    Jon took a picture of me as I was being interviewed and photographed at the same time.

  • Two Years

    The date 27th November 2007 looked really familiar on my phone. As though there’s something very important to remember.

    As I boarded the LRT to Taman Bahagia to meet Peiling, I remembered. It was the date I got baptised, two years ago. There were nine of us, all youth. Eight girls and one boy. A lot of people were there, including my mum and Amanda. She helped me to carry a bucketful of orchids, my gift for the others.

    I remember my testimonial made some people tear. Stephanie came up to me and said, “You very bad wan la you.. made me cry.” I can’t remember exactly what I said, except for sharing Proverbs 3:5-6 and telling my secret I’ve been keeping for seven years from my mum. I didn’t plan to tell it out, but I blurted it to the crowd. Haha. Half expected her to create some drama, like, standing up and storming out of the church. But she didn’t. She just sat and listening quietly as I told my story about how I accepted Christ when I was fourteen, but I kept it a secret from her, afraid that she would disown me if she found out.

    After that, I went up to her and said, “I hope you’re not angry.” She just said, “No lah.” and gave me a hug. Shucks, I really felt like I wanna cry ady cuz I seldom hug my mum, and even if I do, it’s always something emotional. Argh I’m getting all emotional typing this and listening to Ray Boltz’s ‘Thank You’ at the same time.

    I remember telling myself when I was fourteen that I’d get baptised at the age of 21, because if my mum didn’t allow me to, I am of legal age to get baptised without parental consent ady ma. But God is good. I had the consent and mum even turned up to witness my baptism. =)

    P/s: Just found out that Zoe from PJGH got baptised on the same day as me too! Heheheh!

  • Phew!

    Finally VBS is over! Quite relieved, but missed it at the same time too. It felt like camp, even though we didn’t stay over. Maybe it’s because I stayed overnight at Jeannie’s house. It was fun having dinner with the Cheahs and after-dinner teatime. Lame jokes really run in their blood. =.= I enjoyed them nevertheless. XD


    I got to bond with their miniature pinscher too. His name’s Lex. To get him to bermanja on my leg, I had to bribe him with a small piece of soda crackers!

    I enjoyed learning the songs with my music team and teaching the kids new songs during worship time. I hope they can remember the songs. At least the chorus. =) Honestly, I was afraid to lead a group of at least 100 kids from 5-12 years of age. I surrendered and asked God to use me in whatever way He wanted me to, in those three days.
    It’s great joy for me to hear their voices ring praises to God! =D Many times I pushed the mic back so that I could be softer instead.

    *contented sigh*

    So fun.

    Didn’t take pictures with my camera, but snapped a fair bit with Thomas’ Canon 350D and 400D. Fun fun fun! Thankew, Thomas, for letting me use. =) No pictures from me yet, I heard he has 3000 over pictures. =p

    A five-year-old boy came up to me while I was standing and without warning, he jumped and clung on to me like a koala on an eucalyptus tree. I lost balance and fell, scraping my left knee on the carpet. =.=

    I thought we, the music station team, had a hard time with the energetic children whom we can’t seem to control no matter how fierce and firm we tried to be. But I think the team leaders had a harder time, since they have to be with the children ALL the time from start to finish.

    Kudos to y’all!! =D A lot of hard work and effort was put into making VBS a success. Glad it turned out alright.

    No Sunday School till January! Yeshh.. it’s rest time.

    Melanie took this picture. It’s me and little Hannah with funky hair that stands! She clung on to me like a koala. Gosh, she’s so pink. So unpolluted with toxins. Not like me, so polluted with coffee. =p

    And this is Jessica with Hannah. Check out Hannah’s funky hair!


  • Musician Revealed

    And so, I went for supper last night with my neighbour Val. She selected Island Cafe at SS2. I’ve never been there, despite knowing that that place is not favoured by many of my friends. We ate before that, so we just ordered drinks. I liked my mango tea. I didn’t even have to empty the sachet of sugar into it because it was already sweet enough for my liking.

    And so, I listened to tales about her life as a junior hairstylist, and I made her scared by my stories of ghosts in our neighbourhood. Haha. =p I didn’t know she was afraid of ghosts. Since young, she has always been the fearless child, an adventurous and tough long-haired girl. But now she wears her hair short and coloured.

    So we chatted until the cafe blasted loud music. It was difficult to hear what Val was saying. She said it’s a tactic to make the customers leave by blasting the speakers. Felt like I was in some concert, only difference is that the place is almost empty. Only one or two tables were still occupied by stubborn patrons like us.

    It’s good to catch up again. =) Oh, about the title of this post.. Remember I mentioned about an unknown person playing ‘Fly Me to the Moon’ on recorder? I found out who the musician is.

    Me: Eh, who’s the one blowing recorder in our neighbourhood ah?
    Val: Oh. That’s my dad. He’s actually playing the flute.

    Wow.

    Val: The problem is, my mum and I can’t make out what he’s playing.

    Hehe! =p Way to go, Uncle!

  • It’s Nothing.. again

    And so I took the next afternoon off to the park behind my house to pour out what was on my mind to a very faithful listener. He appeared somewhat quiet, as if afraid to say anything offensive. (But thanks for being there and being patient with me. I appreciated it!) We sat at a piece of concrete which extends like a jetty towards the lake, and watched the aerators rotate continuously, splashing waters as they did. It was cloudy, but the heat of the sun could still be felt. But it was milder, not strong enough to make me sweat.

    I didn’t bother whether I’d get darker, being outdoors in the afternoon. The park is only lively in the mornings and evenings. I don’t bother using a whitening cream anymore. I’m starting to accept my skin colour. It’s fun to be mistaken as a Mongolian or a Sarawakian/Sabahan. Haha!

    So after being emo for an hour, ranting, rambling and complaining, I felt better. Watching the ripples on the surface of the lake helped to calm me too. At that moment I felt blessed to be living so near to a beautiful park. I have a lake behind my house, man! Haha. Sudden realisation.

    I wanted to slide down the spiral tube slide but there were a couple of schoolgirls there, blocking the entrance. Oh well. I was trying to take a picture of a butterfly which was on a purple weed flower, but it didn’t turn out focused. Then my eyeballs focused to the seeds of the weed.

    It is designed this way so that the breeze can carry the seeds to another place, hopefully somewhere with some earth, so that they can be germinated. I never noticed them close up till I took a picture of them. So delicate.. connected to the sphere in the center.

    God is so creative.

  • It’s Nothing

    I live my life like I’m wearing a mask which has a smile on it all the time. Under it, lies doubt, uncertainty, and frustration.

    I notice most of my posts had been very neutral, which cannot tell whether I’m happy or sad. Maybe it’s because I feel vulnerable to let my feelings out.

    Even now as I type this, I’m gingerly choosing my words, automatically becoming neutral again, trying to assure my readers that I’m okay, trying not to rouse other people’s concerns for me. I don’t want to sound as though I’m calling for attention.

    I’ve been.. thinking a lot lately. Thoughts all in a flurry. They’re always swirling in my mind and after a while, I push them aside. No solutions for my dilemmas. Just taking them out and putting them back in. And doing that over and over again.