November 27, 2007

  • Two Years

    The date 27th November 2007 looked really familiar on my phone. As though there’s something very important to remember.

    As I boarded the LRT to Taman Bahagia to meet Peiling, I remembered. It was the date I got baptised, two years ago. There were nine of us, all youth. Eight girls and one boy. A lot of people were there, including my mum and Amanda. She helped me to carry a bucketful of orchids, my gift for the others.

    I remember my testimonial made some people tear. Stephanie came up to me and said, “You very bad wan la you.. made me cry.” I can’t remember exactly what I said, except for sharing Proverbs 3:5-6 and telling my secret I’ve been keeping for seven years from my mum. I didn’t plan to tell it out, but I blurted it to the crowd. Haha. Half expected her to create some drama, like, standing up and storming out of the church. But she didn’t. She just sat and listening quietly as I told my story about how I accepted Christ when I was fourteen, but I kept it a secret from her, afraid that she would disown me if she found out.

    After that, I went up to her and said, “I hope you’re not angry.” She just said, “No lah.” and gave me a hug. Shucks, I really felt like I wanna cry ady cuz I seldom hug my mum, and even if I do, it’s always something emotional. Argh I’m getting all emotional typing this and listening to Ray Boltz’s ‘Thank You’ at the same time.

    I remember telling myself when I was fourteen that I’d get baptised at the age of 21, because if my mum didn’t allow me to, I am of legal age to get baptised without parental consent ady ma. But God is good. I had the consent and mum even turned up to witness my baptism. =)

    P/s: Just found out that Zoe from PJGH got baptised on the same day as me too! Heheheh!

Comments (1)

  • yeah, i remember the baptism.. :) it was a lovely sharing and I’m still very glad your mom was there.. it was one of the more memorable baptism testimonies.. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *