May 13, 2008

  • It’s a Chic Lit?!

    gardenspells

    I’ve been eyeing on it for a long time. My long time means two weeks. I usually don’t get interested in buying novels featured at the entrances of bookshelves or bestsellers, but somehow, this book caught my eye at Popular bookstore. Okay, I admit that I judge books by their covers. It has subtle swirls with flowers and butterflies! XD I got more interested when I read the synopsis. It’s about this woman who has a walled garden that mysteriously blooms all year round. She tends to that family garden from which she makes her delicacies – famed and feared for their magical effects. She has everything she thinks she needs until one day a stranger became her next door neighbour and a vine of ivy crept into her garden.

    I’m just really curious about what happens in the story. Reminds me of those witchy stories. So I decided to get it, but I wasn’t willing to part with my RM32.90. I’m not the type who spends on novels. Then, two days ago, I had a Teacher’s Day gift from the kindy: a RM20 MPH gift voucher! Wheee! =D Eugene and I thronged One Utama’s MPH just now just to look for the book. I passed by Atonement, and had second thoughts about Garden Spells. Then I decided I shouldn’t be fickle and continued looking for the latter.

    It was quite difficult finding it – I did not expect it to be labeled under Chic Lit. -_-” So, I’m going to spend my Teacher’s Day gift on a chic lit. Uh huh..  I could’ve bought a nice craft book or orchid book, but I’m currently more interested in craft mags (they’re cheaper) and I’m not really in my orchid mood at this point in life. =p

    I’ll be burying my nose in my new novel for the next few months. Yeah, I’m a really slow reader. And to make the book more worthwhile, I read it very s-l-o-w-l-y, stretching it as many days as I can. I dunno.. That’s my idea of making my money paid for the book worth it.. quite weird I know. As a result, I haven’t finish many books. Heheh.

    Books I Wanna Read:

    1. Atonement by Ian McEwan
    2. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
    3. Stardust by Neil Gaiman
    4. The Life of Pi by Yann Martel
    5. many other books which I’ll add here

    Anyone who has any of these, can pinjam? =D

Comments (1)

  • Hey WaiYee,
    I changed the url of my blog. (http://wenmin-ing.blogspot.com/)
    Need books to read??
    Thou shall not fear. xD
    Interested on the Stephenie Meyer’s twilight saga?
    I have all of them, it’s really good!!
    Wait! Make that the 4th book which is the last book is coming out on August 2, so I don’t actually have all the books then. But I have the first 3 books. =D Its really good!! [in my top?? list, =) ]

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *