Month: January 2008

  • The Return of Aunty Waiyee

    I am back at the kindy as a Teaching Assistant! Not exactly Teacher, but someone who assists the Teacher. There are currently seven 3-year-olds in my class, two of them are boys. Today’s Day 3 of school.. been running after them quite a bit, and prying crying kids from their mothers in the morning.. but thank God so far nothing worse happened.. yet!

    Cute moment #1:
    After school hours, little Su Yin was still waiting for her grandfather to come and get her. After letting her do free drawing and Duplo blocks, I really didn’t know what else to let her do. So I led her to a counting poster on the wall and pointed at each item and asked, “What is this?” So, part of the conversation went like this:

    Me: What is this?
    SY: Colour pencils!
    Me: No. Crayons. Say ‘crayons’.
    SY: Caywons.
    Me: Crayons.
    SY: Paywons.
    Me: Crayons.
    SY: Yes I know!